Skip to Content

Where to Buy a Fishing License Online? (A State-By-State Guide)

Where to Buy a Fishing License Online? (A State-By-State Guide)

No matter where you’re planning on going fishing, the one thing you’ll basically always need is a fishing license. Luckily, the internet has come a long way, and nowadays, getting a license for your fishing trip isn’t complicated at all.

Conveniently, all US states sell fishing licenses online. They can be purchased via the respective state’s Department of Fish and Wildlife or Department of Natural Resources. These licenses can be obtained 24/7 and will be valid immediately after purchasing them.

Continue reading this article to get all the necessary information on every state’s online fishing license options.

Contents show

Alabama

Online Availability

The Alabama Department of Conservation and Natural Resources offers digital licenses for both fresh- and saltwater fishing. Please visit Outdoor Alabama to purchase your digital fishing license and to get more detailed information!

The following licenses may be purchased:

  • Recreational – Resident
  • Recreational – Non-Resident
  • Commercials

License Fees

Recreational – Resident

Freshwater Fishing$14.05
65+ Freshwater Fishing$14.05*
Public Fishing Lakes Daily License$6.45
Wildlife Heritage License$11.60
Spearfishing$6.00

*(Optional Senior Lifetime Freshwater Fishing License available for $35)

Recreational – Non-Resident

Annual License$54.20
7-Day Trip$30.40
Family 3-Day Trip$30.40
Non-Resident College Student$14.05
Public Fishing Lake License*$13.10 (annual)/$7.55 (daily)
Spearfishing$8.50 (annual)/$3.50 (7-day trip)

*Valid only in the State-owned county Public Fishing Lakes. (Not valid in the major rivers and lakes.)

Note: Due to reciprocal agreements, special fishing license fees may apply to residents of Florida, Georgia, Louisiana, Mississippi & Tennessee.

Commercials

Residents$100
Non-ResidentsPrices vary

Fishing License Age

All residents and non-residents 16 years of age or younger are exempt from having to purchase recreational fishing licenses.

License Validity

All recreational fishing licenses are valid between Sept. 1 and Aug. 31

Commercial licenses are issued at the Montgomery Office by mailing in application only. A license information packet can be viewed for each license for information, laws, and regulations.

Alaska

Online Availability

It is possible to buy an Alaskan fishing license online. To do so, please visit the Alaska Department of Fish and Game. Note that you will have to identify yourself with a valid driver’s license number in order to be able to purchase your fishing license.

License Fees

Resident

Annual Sport Fishing License $20.00
Annual Low-Income Sport Fishing License $5.00
Annual Sport Fishing License for the Blind $0.50
Resident Annual King Salmon Stamp $10.00

Nonresident

Nonresident 1 Day Sport Fishing License $15.00
Nonresident 3 Day Sport Fishing License $30.00
Nonresident 7 Day Sport Fishing License $45.00
Nonresident 14 Day Sport Fishing License $75.00
Nonresident Annual Sport Fishing License $100.00
Nonresident 1 Day King Salmon Stamp$15.00
Nonresident 3 Day King Salmon Stamp$30.00
Nonresident 7 Day King Salmon Stamp$45.00
Nonresident 14 Day King Salmon Stamp$75.00
Nonresident Annual King Salmon Stamp$100.00

Commercial

Crewmember Annual License $60.00 (Resident) $280.00 (Nonresident)
Child Crewmember Annual License (10 or less years old) $5.00 $225.00
Crewmember 7 Day License $30.00 $30.00
Crewmember Duplicate (replacement) License $5.00 $5.00

Fishing License Age

All anglers under the age of 16 are exempt from having to purchase a resident or nonresident sport fishing license.

License Validity

All annual sport fishing licenses are valid from the date of purchase until December 31 of the license year.

Arizona

Online Availability

Fishing licenses can be purchased directly on the Arizona Game and Fish Department website. Here, you can both purchase a new and re-print an existing fishing license.

Please note that you will be required to create a customer account in order to log in and purchase your license.

License Fees

Type of LicenseRESIDENT FEENON-RESIDENT FEE
General Fishing$37$55
Combo Hunt & Fish$57$160
Youth Combo Hunt & Fish$5$5
Short-Term Combo Hunt & Fish$15/day$20/day
Community Fishing$24$24

Fishing License Age

All residents and nonresidents 10 years of age or older need a valid fishing license in order to fish any water in Arizona.

License Validity

All fishing licenses in Arizona are valid 365 days from the day of purchase.

Arizona residents may also choose to buy a lifetime fishing license. More information on how to do that can be found here.

Arkansas

Online Availability

All Arkansas fishing licenses can be purchased via the website of the Arkansas Game & Fish Commission. Please note that you will have to identify yourself with a valid driver’s license number and social security number in order to be able to obtain a license.

License Fees

Recreational

LicenseCost
Combination Sportsman’s License (CS)$35.50
Resident Fisheries Conservation License (FSH)$10.50
Resident 3-Day Trip Fishing License (RT3)$6.50
Resident Trout Permit (TPR)$10.00
Nonresident Trout Permit (TPN)$20.00
Alligator Gar Fishing Permit (AGP)Free
Nonresident Annual Fishing License (NRF)$50.00
Nonresident 3-Day Trip Fishing License (NT3)$16.00
Nonresident 7-Day Trip Fishing License (NT7)$25.00
Resident Fishing Guide License (GLF)$25.00
Nonresident Fishing Guide License (GNF)$150.00
White River Border Lakes License (WRL)$10.00
Resident 3-Year Disability License (RDF)$10.50
Commercial Fisherman’s Permit and Sport-fishing License (CFS)$25.00
65-Plus Lifetime Fishing License$10.50
65 Plus Lifetime Combination License$35.50
65 Plus Lifetime Trout Permit (PLT)$10.00
Non-expiring Lifetime Resident Hunting and Fishing Sportsman’s Permit$1000.00
Resident 3-Year Disability Combination License (RDC)$35.50
Mobility-Impaired Access PermitFree

Commercial

LicenseCost
Resident Fishing Guide License (GLF)$25
Nonresident Fishing Guide License (GNF)$150
Commercial Fisherman’s Permit and Sport-fishing License (CFS)$25

Fishing License Age

Please note that all residents and nonresidents 16 years or older must carry a valid fishing license in the state of Arkansas.

License Validity

As many of Arkansas fishing licenses have different periods of validity, please visit the Arkansas Game &Fish Commission’s website to get more detailed information on each of the licenses and their respective descriptions and requirements.

California

Online Availability

The California Department of Fish and Wildlife sells online sport and commercial fishing licenses. Both annual and short-term licenses can be purchased here.

License Fees

Annual Sport Fishing Licenses

Resident Sport Fishing$52.66
Nonresident Sport Fishing$142.05
Reduced-Fee Sport Fishing License – Disabled Veteran$7.98 at CDFW Offices
$8.38 from License Agents
Reduced-Fee Sport Fishing License – Recovering Service Member$7.98 at CDFW Offices$8.38 from License Agents
Reduced Fee Sport Fishing License – Low Income Senior$7.98
Free Sport Fishing License – Low Income Native AmericanNO FEE
Free Sport Fishing License – Mobility Impaired, Blind or Developmentally DisabledNO FEE

There is also the possibility of purchasing a lifetime fishing license for different age groups.

Short-Term Sport Fishing Licenses

One-day Sport Fishing License$17.02
Two-day Sport Fishing License$26.49
Ten-day Nonresident Sport Fishing License$52.6

Commercial Fishing

For all commercial fishing fees and descriptions, please visit the CDFW Commercial Fishing Licenses section.

Fishing License Age

All residents and non-residents 16 years of age or older must carry a valid sport fishing license in the state of California.

License Validity

All annual sport fishing licenses in California are valid from January 1st to December 31st, or for the remainder of the year if purchased after January 1.

Colorado

Online Availability

Colorado Parks & Wildlife offers online purchases of annual or multi-day sport fishing licenses for both residents and non-residents. Please visit the Colorado Parks and Wildlife Shop to buy your online fishing license.

License Fees

Residents

F01 – Resident Fishing Annual License$36.08
F90 – Extra Rod Stamp$11.11
X01 – Resident Small Game Hunting & Fishing Combo Annual License$51.68
F80 – Resident Fishing 1-Day License$14.23
F81 – Fishing Additional Day License$6.95 (per day)

Non-Residents

F50 – Nonresident Fishing Annual License$100.57
F90 – Extra Rod Stamp$11.11
F60 – Nonresident Fishing 5-Day License$32.95
F81 – Fishing Additional Day License$6.95 (per day)
F82 – Non-Resident Fishing 1-Day License$17.35

Fishing License Age

Please note that all residents and non-residents 18 years of age or older must purchase a fishing license in the state of Colorado.

License Validity

All annual fishing licenses go on sale March 1st of every year and are valid March 1st through March 31st the following year (13 months validity). Please check the Fishing Season Dates & License Fees section for more detailed information.

a fisherman on a kayak holding a big largemouth bass
Courtesy of Adam Markley

Connecticut

Online Availability

The Connecticut Department of Energy and Environmental Protection sells the following fishing licenses and permits online:

  • Inland fishing license
  • Marine fishing license
  • Youth fishing passport
  • Hunting and fishing guide registration
  • Commercial fishing license
  • Dealer license
  • Tournament/derby permit
  • Permits for bait dealers, general use, and stocking

License Fees

Resident

Resident Inland Fishing Age 18-64 / Age 16 and 17 $28.00 / $14.00
Resident All Waters Fishing Age 18-64 / Age 16 and 17 $32.00 / $16.00
Resident Inland Fishing and Small Game Firearms Hunting Age 18-64 / Age 16 and 17 $38.00 / $19.00
Resident All Waters Fishing and Small Game Firearms Hunting 
Age 18-64 / Age 16 and 17

$40.00 / $20.00
Resident All Waters Fishing and Bow and Arrow Permit to Hunt Deer and Small Game Age 18-64 / Age 16 and 17 $65.00 / $33.00
Trout and Salmon Stamp
Age 18-64 / Age 65 and Older / Age 16 and 17
  
$5.00 / $5.00 / $3.00
Resident Senior Citizen (65 and older) – Inland FishingFree (Requires Annual Renewal)

Non-Resident

Nonresident Season-Inland Fishing$55.00
Nonresident Season-All Waters Fishing$63.00
Nonresident Three Day Inland Fishing$22.00
Nonresident Inland Fishing and Small Game Firearms Hunting$110.00
Nonresident All Waters Fishing and Firearms Hunting$120.00

For information about licenses for members of the armed forces, the disabled, and marine water fishing licenses, please visit the Fishing Licenses, Permits, and Related Products section.

Fishing License Age

All residents and non-residents who are 16 years of age or older must carry a valid fishing license in the state of Connecticut.

License Validity

All Connecticut fishing licenses are issued on a calendar year basis and expire on December 31st.

Delaware

Online Availability

The Delaware Department of Natural Resources and Environmental Control has built an ePermitting system called Digital DNREC. This online license and permit system allows you to purchase a digital fishing license.

Note: During the coronavirus (COVID-19) outbreak, recreational license sales at DNREC offices are suspended.

Please also note that you, as a new user, will have to create an account in order to purchase and manage your licenses.

License Fees

Type of LicenseResidentNon-Resident
Resident Fishing License (Ages 16 to 64)$8.50N/A
Non-Resident Fishing License (Age 16 and Over)N/A$20.00
7-Day Non-Resident Fishing License (Age 16 and Over)N/A$12.50
Resident Trout Stamp (Ages 16 to 64)$4.20N/A
Resident Young Angler Trout Stamp (Age 12-15)$2.10N/A
Non-Resident Trout Stamp (Age 12 and Over)N/A$6.20
Boat Fishing License (20 feet or less)$40.00$40.00
Boat Fishing License (Over 20 feet)$50.00$50.00
Head Boat License$300.00$600.00
Charter Boat License$150.00$300.00
Fishing Guide License$100.00$300.00

Fishing License Age

All residents age 16 to 64, as well as all non-residents 16 years of age and older, need to carry a valid fishing license in the state of Delaware.

License Validity

All regular fishing licenses are valid through December 31st of the calendar year in which they were issued.

Florida

Online Availability

For more detailed information about recreational fresh- and saltwater fishing licenses, please visit the Florida Fish and Wildlife Conservation Commission.

Recreational fresh- and saltwater fishing licenses can be purchased online via GoOutdoorsFlorida.com.

License Fees

Freshwater Fishing

  • Resident Annual:  $17.00
  • Resident Five-Year:  $79.00
  • Non-Resident Annual:  $47.00
  • Non-Resident 3-Day:  $17.00
  • Non-Resident 7-Day:  $30.00
  • Resident Youth Freshwater Fishing License:  $17.00

Saltwater Fishing

(Applies to both state and federal waters)

  • Resident Annual:  $17.00
  • Resident Five-Year:  $79.00
  • Non-Resident Annual:  $47.00
  • Non-Resident 3-Day:  $17.00
  • Non-Resident 7-Day:  $30.00
  • Resident Youth Saltwater Fishing License:  $17.00

Fishing License Age

All residents and non-residents 16 of age or older must carry a valid fishing license in the state of Florida.

License Validity

All Florida fresh- and saltwater fishing licenses are valid 12 months from the date they were issued.

Georgia

Online Availability

For more detailed information on fishing licenses and permits in the state of Georgia, please visit the Georgia Department of Natural Resources.

Online fishing licenses can be purchased directly via GoOutdoorsGeorgia.com.

Please note that you will have to create a user account to purchase and manage your fishing licenses.

License Fees

Residents

  • Fishing License: $15 annual | $5 for one-day & $1 for additional days
  • Combo Hunting & Fishing License: $30 annual | $5 for one-day & $1 for additional days
  • Apprentice Combo Hunting & Fishing License: $5 for one-day & $1 for additional days
  • Optional Youth Fishing License: $10
  • Senior Fishing License: $4

Non-Residents

  • Fishing License: $50 annual | $10 for one-day & $3.50 for additional days
  • Combo Hunting & Fishing License: $150 annual | $30 for one-day & $10 for additional days
  • Apprentice Combo Hunting & Fishing License: $30 for one-day & $10 for additional days
  • Youth (15 years of age or younger): $100 annual | $20 for one-day & $6 for additional days

For more information about fishing regulations and locations, please visit Fishing in Georgia.

Fishing License Age

Georgia law requires all anglers who are 16 years of age and older to have a current Georgia fishing license in their possession while fishing in freshwater or saltwater in Georgia.

License Validity

All annual fishing licenses in the state of Georgia are valid 365 days from the date they were issued.

Hawaii

Online Availability

Freshwater fishing licenses can be obtained via the State of Hawaii Division of Aquatic Resource’s section for Freshwater Game Fishing Licenses.

Please note that you do not need a fishing license for recreational marine fishing in the state of Hawaii. However, there are certain locations where fishing from the shore is prohibited.

Please visit the State of Hawaii Division of Aquatic Resources’ FAQs to find out more.

License Fees Freshwater Fishing

  • Minors: $4.00
  • Residents: $6.00
  • Non-Residents: $26.00
  • 7-day Tourists: $11.00
  • 30-day Tourists: $21.00
  • Seniors: $1.00

License Validity

All Hawaii freshwater fishing licenses are valid for one year from the date they were issued, with the exception of include 7 or 30-day tourist licenses.

Idaho

Online Availability

Fishing licenses can be purchased online via the Idaho Fish and Game website. Here, you can also find all necessary information on fees, regulations and fishing seasons.

License Fees

Residents

Adults Annual License$ 30.50
Adults 3-Year License$ 73.75
Day License (First Day)
Each consecutive day at initial time of purchase add $6.00
$ 13.50
Junior Annual License (14-17 Years)$ 16.00
Junior 3-Year License (14-17 Years)$ 37.75
Disabled American Veterans$ 5.75
Disabled Persons$ 5.75

Please check the Idaho Fish and Game website’s section for resident fishing licenses and fees to get more detailed information on additional fee categories, as well as on necessary requirements for licenses for disabled American veterans and disabled persons.

Non-Residents

Adults Annual License$ 108.00
Adults 3-Year License$ 320.50
Day License (First Day)
Each consecutive day at initial time of purchase add $6.00
$ 22.75
Junior Annual License (14-17 Years)$ 23.75
Junior 3-Year License (14-17 Years)$ 67.75

Please check the Idaho Fish and Game website’s section for non-resident fishing licenses and fees to get more detailed information on additional fee categories, as well as on necessary requirements for licenses for disabled American veterans and disabled persons.

License Validity

All fishing licenses in Idaho are valid from January 1st through December 31st, regardless of the date of purchase.

Illinois

Online Availability

Fishing licenses can be obtained online via the Illinois Department of Natural Resources licensing system. Please note that you will have to create a user account in order to be able to log in and purchase your license.

License Fees

Residents

Resident Fishing License$15.00
Resident Initial Commercial Fishing License$60.50
Resident Lifetime Fishing License$435.00
Resident Senior Fishing License$7.75
Resident Sport Fishing License (24 hours)$5.50
Resident Super Senior Fishing License$1.50
Resident Veteran Fishing License (Prior Certification Required)$7.75

Non-Residents

Non-Resident Fishing License$31.50
Non-Resident Fishing License (3 days)$15.50
Non-Resident Initial Commercial Fishing License$300.50
Non-Resident Sport Fishing License (24 hours)$10.50

For even more types of fishing licenses for the state of Illinois, please visit the Illinois Department of Natural Resources’ fishing license section.

Fishing License Age

All resident and non-resident anglers age 16 and older are required to carry a valid fishing license.

License Validity

All Illinois state fishing licenses are valid from March 1 through March 31 of the following year. For more information on requirements, dates, and regulations, please visit the Illinois Department of Natural Resources’ FAQ section.

Indiana

Online Availability

Fishing licenses can be purchased via the Indiana Department of Natural Resources’ fish and wildlife online license system.

Please note that you will have to create a user account in order to purchase and manage your license.

License Fees

Residents

Annual Fishing $17
One-day Fishing (includes Trout/Salmon)$9
Annual Senior Fishing*$3
Senior Fish-for-Life*$17
Voluntary Senior Annual Fishing*$3
Trout/Salmon Stamp Privilege$11
Combination License Hunting & Fishing$25
Disabled American Veterans Hunting & Fishing (does not include deer or turkey)$2.75

*For more detailed information about the state’s senior fishing licenses, please visit the Indiana Department of Natural Resources’ license fees section.

Non-Residents

Annual Fishing $35
One-day Fishing (includes Trout/Salmon)$9
Seven-day Fishing$20
Trout/Salmon Stamp Privilege$11

Fishing License Age

All residents and non-residents 18 years of age or older must carry a valid fishing license in the state of Indiana.

License Validity

Annual fishing licenses in Indiana are valid from April 1 through March 31.

Iowa

Online Availability

All fishing licenses for the state of Iowa can be purchased online via the online portal at GoOutdoorsIOWA.com.

Please be advised that you will have to create a customer account in order to login, purchase, and manage your Iowa fishing license.

License Fees

Residents

Resident Fishing$22.00
Angler’s Special – 3 Year Fish$62.00
Bonus Line – 3rd Fish Line$14.00
Lifetime Fishing (65 years old & older)$61.50
Outdoor Combo – Hunting / Fishing / Habitat$55.00
Resident Trout Fish Fee$14.50
Resident 1-Day Fishing$10.50
Resident 7-Day Fishing$15.50

Non-Residents

Non-resident Fishing$48.00
Bonus Line – 3rd Fish Line$14.00
Nonresident Trout Fish Fee$17.50
Nonresident 1-Day Fishing$12.00
Nonresident 3-Day Fishing$20.50
Nonresident 7-Day Fishing$37.50

For more detailed information about the different types of licenses, as well as tips and tricks on where and how to fish in Iowa, please visit the fishing section of the Iowa Department of Natural Resources.

Fishing License Age

All resident and nonresident anglers age 16 or older must have a valid fishing license in order to fish in Iowa waters.

License Validity

All annual fishing licenses for the state of Iowa expire on January 10 of each year, regardless of the date the license was purchased.

Kansas

Online Availability

Fishing licenses can be purchased online via the Kansas Wildlife, Park & Tourism website. Very conveniently, you can also download a digital license app directly onto your mobile phone.

You can download the HuntFish Kansas Mobile App here.

License Fees

Residents

Annual Fish License (365-day license)$27.50
Annual Fishing License (Age 16-20) (Valid during the year of purchase)$42.50
Trout Permit (365-day permit)$14.50
Youth Trout Permit (Valid during the year of purchase)$7.00
3 Pole Permit (365-day permit)$8.50
Tournament Black Bass Pass (365-day license)$14.50
Hand Fishing Permit (Expires on December 31)$27.50
Resident Combo Hunt/Fish License (365-day license)$47.50
Resident Combo Hunt/Fish License (Age 16-20) (Valid during the year of purchase)$72.50

Non-Residents

Annual Fish License (365-day license)$52.50
Trout Permit (365-day permit)$14.50
Youth Trout Permit (Valid during the year of purchase)$7.00
3 Pole Permit (365-day permit)$8.50
Tournament Black Bass Pass (365-day license)$14.50
Hand Fishing Permit (Expires on December 31)$27.50
Non-Resident Combo Hunt/Fish License (365-day license)$137.50

Fishing License Age

All residents and nonresidents age 16 or older must carry a valid fishing license in order to fish public waters in the state of Kansas.

License Validity

Annual fishing licenses are valid for 365 days from the date of purchase, except for youth and age 16-20 licenses, which are only valid during the year they were purchased, and hand fishing permits, which expire on December 31 of the year of purchase.

Kentucky

Online Availability

All Kentucky fishing licenses can be purchased online via the Kentucky Fish & Wildlife Online License Sale Site.

License Fees

LicenseResidentNon-Resident
Annual Fishing$23.00$55.00
Joint/Spouses Annual Fishing$42.00Not available
1-Day Fishing$7.00$15.00
3-Year Fishing (Online Only)$55.00Not available
Nonresident 7-Day FishingNot available$35.00
Trout Permit$10.00$10.00
Annual Combination Hunting/Fishing$42.00Not available

For more detailed information about regulations, waters, and fishing seasons, please visit the fishing section of the Kentucky Department of Fish & Wildlife Resources.

Fishing License Age

All resident and non-resident anglers age 16 years and older must purchase and carry a valid fishing license in the state of Kentucky.

License Validity

All annual Kentucky fishing license are valid from March 1 through the last day of February.

Louisiana

Online Availability

Louisiana fishing licenses can be purchased or renewed via the Louisiana Wildlife and Fisheries’ customer portal. Please note that you will have to create a customer account in order to buy and manage you fishing license.

Existing licenses may also be reprinted here.

License Fees

License / Permit TypeResident FeeNonresident Fee
Hook and Line (cane pole)$2.50
Basic Fishing$9.50$60
Saltwater (Basic Fishing License required)$13$30
Nonresident Basic Trip (1 day)$5
Nonresident Saltwater Trip (1 day)$17.50
Nonresident Saltwater Season (Basic Fishing License required)$30
Senior Hunting/Fishing$5
Louisiana Sportman’s Paradise$100
Charter Passenger (3 day)$10$10
Charter Skiff (3 day)$30

Many of the listed licenses have special rules and requirements that you have to be aware of before purchasing them. For more detailed information about these licenses, please visit the Louisiana Wildlife and Fisheries’ section for Fishing Licenses and Permits.

Fishing License Age

All resident and non-resident anglers age 16 or older must have a valid basic fishing license in order to fish recreationally in Louisiana waters.

License Validity

All annual Louisiana fishing licenses are valid from June 1 through June 30 (13-month validity). For updated information on current dates and periods, please visit the Louisiana Wildlife and Fisheries’ Licenses and Permits section.

Maine

Online Availability

All Maine fishing licenses can be purchased via the Maine Department of Inland Fisheries and Wildlife’s online hunting and fishing license system MOSES.

In order to be able to purchase a license, you will have to fill out your name, date of birth, contact information, as well as your credit card number.

License Fees

Residents

Season Fishing (16 and older)$25
Combination Fishing and Hunting$43
Combination Fishing and Archery$43
1-Day Fishing*$11
Serviceman Dependent (Resident) Fishing$10
Duplicate (obtained from agent who issued original)$2

Non-Residents

Season Fishing (16 and older)$64
Combination Fishing and Hunting$150
15-Day Fishing*$47
7-Day Fishing$43
3-Day Fishing$23
1-Day Fishing$11
Duplicate (obtained from agent who issued original)$2

*Several of these fishing license types come with special requirements and regulations. For all necessary information about these license types, as well as for information of resident and nonresident lifetime fishing license, please visit the Maine Department of Inland Fisheries and Wildlife’s section for License Requirements and Fees.

Fishing License Age

All resident and non-resident anglers age 16 or older must purchase a fishing license in order to fish the inland waters of the state of Maine.

License Validity

All Maine seasonal fishing licenses expire on December 31 of the year for which they were issued, regardless of the date of purchase.

Maryland

Online Availability

Fishing licenses can be purchased online via the Maryland Department of Natural Resources’ license system COMPASS. Please note that you will have to create a user account in order to buy and manage your license. Alternatively, you can login in via your DNR ID, your License Transaction Code, or Drivers License Number.

License Fees

Non-Tidal/Freshwater Lincense

LicenseResidentNon-Resident
Annual Fishing License$20.50$30.50*
7-Day Fishing License$7.50**
3-Day Fishing Licensen/a**
Trout Stamp$5.00$10.00

Chesapeake Bay & Coastal Sport Fishing License

LicenseResidentNon-Resident
Annual Fishing License$15$22.50
7-Day Fishing License$6$12

*Non-resident non-tidal license fees are equal to a $30.50 minimum or reciprocal for state of residence, whichever is greater.

**Non-resident non-tidal license fees are equal to the fee charged a MD resident for a similar license by non-resident’s home state.

For more detailed information about the fishing licenses for the state of Maine, as well as for additional saltwater fishing license types, please visit the Maryland Department of Natural Resources’ Fishing Licenses section.

Fishing License Age

Anglers under the age of 16 are not required to purchase a fishing license in order to fish in the state of Maine.

License Validity

All Maine fishing licenses are valid for 365 days from the date of purchase.

an angler on his boat holding a large walleye that he has caught trolling
Courtesy of Brian Daun

Massachusetts

Online Availability

Massachusetts fishing licenses can be purchased via the online portal MassFishHunt. Please note that you will have to create a user account in order to purchase and manage your license.

License Fees

Residents

Resident freshwater fishing license$27.50
Resident minor freshwater fishing (age 15–17) license$0
Resident freshwater fishing (age 65–69) license$16.25
Resident freshwater fishing (age 70 or over) license or$0
Freshwater fishing license (paraplegic, blind, intellectually disabled)$0
Resident freshwater fishing (3 day)$12.50

Non-Residents

Non-resident freshwater fishing license$37.50
Non-resident freshwater fishing (3 day) license$23.50
Non-resident freshwater fishing (age 15–17) license$11.50

Saltwater

Saltwater fishing permit (anglers under 60)$10
Saltwater fishing permit (anglers 60 and over)$0

For more information on fees and regulations, please visit the fishing section at Mass.gov.

Fishing License Age

All resident and non-resident anglers age 15 and older need to have a valid fishing license. For state residents between the age of 15 and 17, fishing licenses are free, but must nevertheless be obtained in order to be able to fish in Massachusetts.

License Validity

All Massachusetts fishing license are valid throughout the year in which they were purchased and expire on December 31st.

Michigan

Online Availability

Fishing licenses and permits can be purchased online via the Michigan Department of Natural Resources.

Please note that you will have to create a user account with password in order to buy and manage your licenses and permits. If you do not want to create an account, you can instead sign in with your ID and birthdate.

License Fees

Resident/Non-Resident Fishing Licenses

  • Annual all species resident – $26
  • Annual all species nonresident – $76
  • Annual all species senior (65+ or who are legally blind, Michigan residents only) – $11
  • Annual all-species youth (voluntary license for residents or nonresidents under the age of 17) – $2
  • Daily all species resident/nonresident – $10/day (you set the date/time for the license to start)

Please also note that adults who are actively assisting minors without a license must carry a valid fishing license, regardless if you yourself are fishing or not.

Hunt/Fish Combo Licenses (Includes Annual All Species)

  • Resident – $76
  • Nonresident – $266
  • Senior (65+, Michigan residents only) – $43

For more detailed information, please visit the Michigan Department of Natural Resources’ License Information section.

Fishing License Age

All residents and non-residents 17 years of age or older must carry a valid fishing license with them. If you are under 17, you might fish without a license. However, you are required to follow all fishing rules and regulations of the state of Michigan.

License Validity

All Michigan annual fishing licenses are valid from March 1 to March 31 of the following year (13 month license validity).

Minnesota

Online Availability

Minnesota fishing licenses may be purchased online via the Minnesota Department of Natural Resources’ Online License Sales section.

Please note that the Minnesota DNR will collect your social security number when you purchase a non-commercial fishing license online.

License Fees

Residents

Angling – 24-hour $12.00
Angling – 3 year Individual $71.00
Angling – 72 Hour $14.00
Angling – combination (Married Couple) $40.00
Angling – dark house rental $30.00
Angling – dark house shelter $15.00
Angling – individual$25.00
Angling – military None
Angling – Netting white tulibee herring $10.00
Angling – spearing from dark house$6.00
Angling Dark House 3 Year Rental$87.00
Angling Dark House 3 Year$42.00
Angling Youth Ages 16 to 17 $5.00

Non-Residents

Angling – 14-day couple$54.00
Angling – 24-hour$14.00
Angling – 7-day$43.00
Angling – 72-hour$36.00
Angling – family$68.00
Angling – individual$51.00
Angling – shelter$37.00
Angling – shelter 7-day$21.00
Angling – spearing from dark house$17.00
Angling – Youth Ages16 to 17 or Youth own limit$5.00

For more information and fees for lifetime licenses, stamps, and sturgeon tags, please visit the Minnesota Department of Natural Resources Fishing License section.

Fishing License Age

All Minnesota state residents age 16 to 89 must have a valid fishing license. All non-residents age 15 or younger do not need to have a fishing license if they are fishing together with a licensed adult.

License Validity

All Minnesota annual fishing licenses are valid March 1 through February 28 of the following year.

Mississippi

Online Availability

Mississippi fishing licenses can be purchased online via the Mississippi Department of Wildlife, Fisheries, and Parks’ Customer Portal.

Please note that you must have a valid driver’s license (or social security number if under the age of 16) in order to purchase a license.

License Fees

Residents

License TypePriceAgent FeeProcess Fee
Sportsman’s License
(Does not include saltwater fishing)
$45.00$1.00$1.29
All Game Hunting/Freshwater Fishing
(Does not include Archery/Primitive Weapon/Crossbow)
$25.00$1.00$1.29
Small Game Hunting/Freshwater Fishing$10.00$1.00$1.29
3-Day Freshwater Fishing$3.00$1.00$1.29
Saltwater Fishing$10.00$1.00$1.29
Senior Lifetime Saltwater License (Age 65 and over)$5.00$1.00$1.29

Non-Residents

License TypePriceAgent FeeProcess Fee
Armed Forces 14-Day Hunting/Fishing
(Must apply through MDWFP – Application)
(Does not include Saltwater Fishing)
$33.00$0$1.29
Freshwater Fishing$60.00$3.00$1.29
3-Day Freshwater Fishing$15.00$2.00$1.29
1-Day Freshwater Fishing$8.00$1.00$1.29
Saltwater Fishing$30.00$3.00$1.29
3-Day Saltwater Fishing$15.00$2.00$1.29

NOTE: In order to fish the marine waters of Mississippi, anglers have to purchase both a freshwater and saltwater fishing license.

For more detailed information about fishing regulations, please visit the Mississippi Department of Wildlife, Fisheries, and Parks’ Fishing License section.

Fishing License Age

All resident and non-resident anglers age 16 or older are required to purchase a valid fishing license in order to fish in the state of Mississippi.

License Validity

All annual fishing licenses in the state of Mississippi are valid for 365 days from the date of purchase.

Missouri

Online Availability

Fishing licenses can be purchased via the Missouri Department of Conservation’s Online Portal MDC Online.

Please note that you will have to create a customer account in order to buy and manage your licenses. Returning customers can log in with their driver’s license number or social security number.

License Fees

Daily/Annual License Fees

License TypeResidentNon-Resident
Daily Fishing Permit$8.00$8.00
Annual Fishing Permit$12.00$49.00
Small Game Hunting and Fishing Permit$19.00n/a
Trout Permit$10.00
(Youth 0-15 $5.00)
$10.00
(Youth 0-15 $5.00)
White River Border Lakes Permit$10n/a

Lifetime License Fees

Licence TypeResident only
Lifetime Conservation Partner (Hunting and Fishing) Permit (residents only)Youth (0-15): $550.00
Age 16-29: $800.00
Age 30-39: $700.00
Age 40-59: $600.00
Age 60-64: $70.00
Lifetime Fishing Permit (residents only)Youth (0-15): $275.00
Age 16-29: $400.00
Age 30-39: $350.00
Age 40-59: $300.00
Age 60-64: $35.00

For more detailed information about license requirements, please visit the Missouri Department of Conservation’s Fishing Permits section.

Fishing License Age

All resident and non-resident angler age 15 and younger and age 65 and older are not required to purchase a valid fishing license in the state of Missouri.

License Validity

For most species, fishing cards are valid from January 1 through December 31 of any given year. However, for some species, shorter fishing seasons may apply. For more detailed information about season validity, please check the Missouri Department of Conservation’s Fishing Permits section.

Montana

Online Availability

Montana fishing licenses can be purchased via the Montana Fish, Wildlife and Parks’ Online License Service.

Please note that new users must create a customer account in order to buy and manage licenses. Returning users can sign in with their assigned ALS number.

License Fees

Base Fishing License

Full Season
  • Resident Cost: $21
  • Youth 10-17 Resident Cost: $10.50
  • Senior 62+ Resident Cost: $10.50
  • Nonresident Cost: $86
Short-Term License for 2 Consecutive Calendar Days
  • Resident Cost: $5
  • Youth 10-17 Resident Cost: $5
  • Senior 62+ Resident Cost: $5
  • Nonresident Cost: $25
Short-Term License for 10 Consecutive Calendar Days
  • Nonresident Cost: $56

Conservation License

  • Resident Cost: $8
  • Youth 10-17 Resident Cost: $4
  • Senior 62+ Resident Cost: $4
  • Nonresident Cost: $10

Angler Aquatic Invasive Species Prevention Pass (AISPP)

  • Resident Cost: $2
  • Nonresident Cost: $7.50

Fishing License Age

All resident and non-resident anglers age 12 and older must have a valid conservation license when fishing in the state of Montana. Additionally, a valid AISPP must be purchased on top of the standard conservation fishing license.

License Validity

The Full Season Fishing license enables you to fish from March 1 through the last day of February of the following year.

Nebraska

Online Availability

License Fees

Residents

Non-Residents

License Validity

Nevada

Online Availability

Fishing licenses can be purchased online via the Nevada Department of Wildlife.

License Fees

Residents

Adult Fishing – 18 & older$40.00
1-Day Permit to Fish – 18 & older$9.00
Consecutive Day$3.00
Combination Hunting/Fishing License$75.00
Youth Combination Hunting/Fishing License (age 12-17)$15.00

Non-Residents

Adult Fishing – 18 & older$80.00
NV Interstate Boundary Waters$30.00
1-Day Permit to Fish – 18 & older$18.00
Consecutive Day$7.00
Combination Hunting/Fishing License$155.00
Youth Combination Hunting/Fishing License (age 12-17)$15.00

For more in-depth information about licenses and fees, please visit the Nevada Fishing Guide.

Fishing License Age

All resident and non-resident angler under 12 years of age do not need a fishing license in the state of Nevada. Youth anglers age 12 to 17 must purchase a youth combination license in order to fish in Nevada waters.

All resident and non-resident anglers age 18 and older must have a valid adult fishing license.

License Validity

All Nevada annual fishing licenses are valid for 1 year from the date they were issued.

New Hampshire

Online Availability

New Hampshire fishing licenses can be bought and renewed via the New Hampshire Fish and Game Online License Sales System.

License Fees

License TypeAnnual FeeAnnual Fee
Note: $2 transaction fee chargedper license form ($2.75 online)RESIDENT NON-RESIDENT
Fishing (freshwater)$45.00$63.00
1-day Fishing (freshwater)$10.00$15.00
3-day Fishing (freshwater)N/A$28.00
7-day Fishing (freshwater)N/A$35.00
Senior Fishing (freshwater)$7.00N/A
Recreational Saltwater Fishing*$11.00$11.00
Clam$30.00N/A
Oyster$30.00N/A
Over 68 / Oyster$0.00N/A
Hunting/Freshwater Fishing Combination$56.00$151.00
Senior Hunting/Freshwater Fishing Combination$7.00N/A

* For more detailed information about saltwater fishing in the state of New Hampshire, please visit the NH Fish and Game Marine Resource FAQs.

You can find out more about additional fishing license types via the New Hampshire Fish and Game Fishing and Hunting License Prices section.

Fishing License Age

All resident and non-resident anglers 16 years of age and older are required to purchase a fishing license in the state of New Hampshire.

License Validity

All New Hampshire annual fishing licenses are valid throughout the current calendar year and expiring on December 31.

New Jersey

Online Availability

Fishing licenses can be purchased online via the New Jersey Division of Fish and Wildlife’s Electronic Licensing System.

Please note that you will have to log in with your last name and date of birth in order to purchase and manage your license.

License Fees

License TypeFee
All-Around Sportsman (includes Resident Fishing,
Firearm Hunting and Bow Hunting licenses)
$72.25
Resident Fishing (Ages 16-64)$22.50
Sr. Resident Fishing (Ages 65-69)$12.50
Resident Trout Stamp$10.50
Non-Resident Fishing (Ages 16 and up)$34.00
Non-Resident Trout Stamp$20.00
7-Day Vacation Fishing (nonresidents only)$19.50
2-Day Vacation Fishing (nonresidents only)$9.00
Fishing Buddy LicensesFind out more here

For more detailed information about fishing license types and requirements please visit the NJ Division of Fish and Wildlife’s Freshwater Fishing section.

Please also note that the state of New Jersey does not require a general saltwater fishing license. However, all saltwater anglers are required to register with the New Jersey Saltwater Recreational Registry Program.

Additionally, licenses and permits are required for crabbing, clamming, and commercial saltwater fishing. For more detailed information, please visit the NJ Division of Fish and Wildlife’s Marine Licenses and Permits section.

Fishing License Age

All resident and non-resident anglers age 16 and older must have a valid fishing license when fishing the freshwaters of New Jersey. This applies to both handline, rod, and line and bow and arrow, as well as privately owned lakes and other waters.

License Validity

All New Jersey annual fishing licenses are from the date of purchase until December 31 of the same year.

New Mexico

Online Availability

Fishing Licenses can be bought via the New Mexico Department of Game and Fish’s Online Licensing System.

Please note that you will have to create a user account with a password in order to purchase and manage your license.

License Fees

License Type (A vendor fee of $1 per transaction applies for all purchases)Resident* Non-Resident
Annual Fishing$25.00$56.00
One-day Fishing$12.00$12.00
Five-day Fishing$24.00$24.00
Junior Annual Fishing (age 12–17)$5.00$15.00
Senior Annual Fishing (age 65–69)$8.00N/A
70 Years and Older Annual Fishing
Free license available to New Mexico residents only and does not require a Habitat Stamp, Habitat Management & Access Validation or Second Rod Validation. If obtained at a license vendor, a $1 vendor fee may apply.
NCN/A
Handicapped Annual Fishing$8.00N/A
Second Rod Validation$4.00$4.00
Game-hunting & Fishing:
Squirrel and game birds (other than turkey) and fishing
$30.00N/A
Junior Game-hunting & Fishing:
Squirrel and game birds (other than turkey) and fishing
$15.00N/A
Senior and Handicapped Game-hunting & Fishing$20.00N/A
Disabled Veteran Game-hunting & Fishing$10.00N/A

*Note that there are special criteria that must be fulfilled in order to qualify for New Mexico resident fees. For more detailed information about these criteria, please visit the New Mexico Department of Game and Fish’s Fishing License Requirements and Fees section.

Fishing License Age

All anglers age 12 and older must posses a valid fishing license in order to fish the waters of New Mexico.

The state of New Mexico offers several types of fishing licenses based on different age groups:

  • Licenses not required for resident and nonresident anglers 11 years of age or younger
  • Junior Fishing Licenses are available to resident and nonresident anglers 12–17 years of age
  • Senior Fishing Licenses are available to New Mexico resident anglers 65–69 years of age
  • Free Licenses for New Mexico residents 70 years and older are available online

License Validity

All New Mexico annual fishing licenses are valid from April 1 through March 31 of the following year.

New York

Online Availability

Fishing licenses can be purchased online via the New York Department of Environmental Conservation’s Automated Licensing System.

Please note that, in order to purchase and manage your license online, you will have to enter your date of birth and identify yourself with one of the following alternatives:

  • NY Driver’s License
  • US Driver’s License
  • Non-US Driver’s License
  • Passport
  • DEC ID

License Fees

License TypeResident FeeNon-resident Fee
Annual
valid one full year (365 days)
from the date of purchase
$25 (ages 16-69)
$5 (ages 70+)
$50
7-day$12$28
1-day$5$10
Lifetime$460 (ages 0-69)
$65 (ages 70+)
NA

For more detailed information on free and reduced licenses, fishing regulations, as well as requirements for border waters, please visit the NY Department of Environmental Conservation’s Fishing License section.

Please note that the state of New York does not require a recreational saltwater fishing license. However, all anglers are asked to enroll in the state’s annual no-fee Recreational Marine Fishing Registry. For more detailed information, please visit the NY Department of Environmental Conservation’s Saltwater Fishing section.

Fishing License Age

All resident and non-resident anglers age 16 and older are required to carry a valid fishing license when fishing in the state of New York.

License Validity

All New York annual fishing licenses are valid for 365 days from the date of purchase.

North Carolina

Online Availability

Fishing licenses can be purchased online via the North Carolina Department of Wildlife.

License Fees

Short-Term Fishing Licenses

License TypeResidentNon-resident
Inland Fishing­ 10-Day$9$23
Coastal Recreational Fishing 10-Day$6$11

Annual Fishing Licenses

License TypeResidentNon-resident
State Inland Fishing$25$45
Coastal Recreational Fishing$16$32
Unified Inland/Coastal Recreational Fishing$41N/A
Subsistence Unified Inland/Coastal Recreational Fishing License WaiverFREEN/A
Special Device (inland fishing)$80$530

Lifetime Fishing Licenses

License TypeResidentNon-resident
Comprehensive Inland Fishing$265N/A
Senior $16N/A
Unified Inland/Coastal Recreational Fishing$477N/A
Coastal Recreational Fishing
Adult (ages 12 & older)$265$530
Youth (ages 1-11)$159$159
Infant (under age 1)$106$106
Senior $16N/A

NOTE: All of the above-mentioned North Carolina fishing license types have individual rules, requirements, and criteria that must be fulfilled in order to qualify for the respective fishing license. Please visit the North Carolina Inland Fishing, Hunting, and Trapping’s Fishing Licenses section in order to get all the necessary information prior to your license purchase.

Fishing License Age

All resident and non-resident anglers age 16 and above must be in possession of a valid fishing license when fishing the waters of North Carolina.

License Validity

Unless otherwise specified, all North Carolina annual fishing licenses are valid for 12 months from the date of purchase.

North Dakota

Online Availability

Fishing licenses can be purchased via the website North Dakota Game and Fish’s Online Licensing System.

License Fees

Resident

License Type*Fee
Fishing License (under 16 not required, except for paddlefish tags,
which are required for all paddlefish snaggers)
$18
Combination License (age 16 or older, includes fishing, general game, and habitat,
small game, and furbearer licenses)
$52
Married Couple Fishing License$24
Senior Citizen Fishing License (65 or older)$5
Totally or Permanently Disabled Fishing License (proof of disability required)$5
Veteran with a 50 percent service-related disability$5
Paddlefish$10

*A prerequisite of $1 is charged for all fishing license types

Non-Resident

License Type*Fee
Individual Season Fishing (under 16 not required if accompanied
by a licensed adult, except that paddlefish tags are required for all paddlefish snaggers)
$48
Married Couple Season Fishing$63
3 Day Fishing$28
10 Day Fishing$38
Paddlefish Tag$25.50

*A prerequisite of $2 is charged for all fishing license types

For more detailed information about fees, requirements, and regulations, please visit the North Dakota Game and Fish sections for resident and non-resident fishing licenses.

Fishing License Age

All resident and non-resident anglers age 16 and older need a valid fishing license in the state of North Dakota.

License Validity

All North Dakota annual fishing licenses are valid from April 1 through March 31 of the following year.

Ohio

Online Availability

Fishing licenses can be purchased online via the Ohio DNR Division of Wildlife’s License Sales section.

Please note that you will have to create a customer account in order to buy, renew, and manager your fishing license.

License Fees

Residents

License TypeResidentSenior Resident
1-Day Fishing License$14.00
1-Year Fishing License (if upgraded from a 1-day fishing license)$12.00
1-Year Fishing License$25.00$10.00
3-Year Fishing License$54.08$28.60
5-Year Fishing License$90.22$47.58
10-Year Fishing License$180.44
Lifetime Fishing License$468.00
$430.56 (under 16)
$84.24

Non-residents

License TypeResident
1-Day Fishing License$14.00
3-Day Fishing License$25.00
1-Year Fishing License (if upgraded from a 1-day fishing license)$37.44
1-Year Fishing License$50.96

For additional information on fees and regulations, please visit the Ohio DNR Division of Wildlife’s Licenses Sales section.

Fishing License Age

All resident and non-resident anglers age 16 and above must purchase a fishing license in order to fish the waters of Ohio.

License Validity

All annual fishing licenses for the state of Ohio are valid for 1 year from the date they were purchased.

Oklahoma

Online Availability

All Oklahoma fishing licenses can be purchased via the Oklahoma Go Outdoors Online Licensing System.

Please note that new customers will have to create a user account in order to purchase, renew, and manage licenses.

Additionally, you can download the Go Outdoors Oklahomas App if you don’t want to print your license and instead keep an e-license with you at all times.

License Fees

Residents

Conventional Fishing Licenses
License TypeFee
Paddlefish PermitFree
Disability Fishing$10
Fishing Guide License$90
Lifetime Senior Citizen Fishing$15
2-Day Fishing$15
Youth Annual Fishing$5
5-Year Fishing$88
Lifetime Fishing$225
Lake Texoma$12
Annual Fishing$25
Combination Fishing Licenses
License TypeFee
5-Year Combination Hunting/Fishing$148
Combination Hunting/Fishing$42
Youth Combination Hunting/Fishing$9
Fiscal-Year Combination Hunting/Fishing$53
Youth Fiscal-Year Combination Hunting/Fishing$19
Lifetime Combination Hunting/Fishing$775
Lifetime Senior Citizen Combination Hunting/Fishing$25
Lifetime Disabled Veteran Combination Hunting/Fishing$200
Lifetime Disabled Veteran Combination Hunting/Fishing$25

Non-residents

License TypeFee
Fishing Guide License$90
Paddlefish Permit
(a valid fishing license is also required, unless exempt)
Free
Lake Texoma$12
1-Day Fishing$15
6-Day Fishing$35
Annual Fishing$55

For more detailed information on fishing license types, requirements, and regulations, please read the Oklahoma Hunting and Fishing Regulations Guide.

Fishing License Age

All Oklahoma resident anglers age 16 and older are required to purchase a fishing license. The same applies to non-resident anglers age 15 and above.

License Validity

All annual fishing licenses for the state of Oklahoma are valid from January 1 through December 31.

Oregon

Online Availability

Fishing Licenses can be purchased online via the Oregon Department of Fish and Wildlife Licensing System.

Please note that you will have to create a customer account with username and password in order to buy, renew, or manage your license.

License Fees

License TypeResident FeeNon-Resident Fee
Annual Fishing License$44.00$110.50
Combined Angling/Hunting$73.00N/A
2 Rod Validation$28.00$28.00
Columbia River Basin Endorsement
(Find out more about the endorsement)
$9.75 (with angling license)
$11.75 (separately)
$9.75 (with angling license)
$11.75 (separately)
Youth License 
(12-17 years old)
$55.00N/A
Senior Combination
(70 years old and Oregon resident for at least 5 years)
$47.50N/A
One Day Angling$23.00$23.00
Two Day Angling$42.00$42.00
Three Day Angling$59.50$59.50
Seven Day AnglingN/A$93.50

For more detailed information on fishing license types, fees, and regulations, please visit the Oregon Department of Fish and Wildlife’s Fishing Licensing Info section.

Fishing License Age

All resident and nonresident anglers age 12 and older must carry a valid fishing license with them when fishing in the state of Oregon.

License Validity

All Oregon annual fishing licenses are valid from January 1 through December 31. Next year’s fishing licenses can be bought from December 1 of the prior year.

Pennsylvania

Online Availability

Fishing licenses for the state of Pennsylvania can be purchased online via the website Pennsylvania Hunt and Fish.

Please note that you will have to create a user account in order to buy, renew, and manage your license.

License Fees

License TypeAgeFee
Resident Annual16-64$22.97
Senior Resident Annual65 & Up$11.97
Senior Resident Lifetime65 & Up$51.97
1-Day Resident (not valid March 15–April 30)16 & Up$11.97
Non-Resident Annual16 & Up$52.97
1-Day Tourist (not valid March 15–April 30)16 & Up$26.97
3-Day Tourist16 & Up$26.97
7-Day Tourist16 & Up$34.97
Voluntary Youth Fishing License AnnualUnder 16$2.97

For additional information on license fees, as well as detailed information on permits and multi-year fishing licenses, please visit the Pennsylvania Fish and Boat’s Fishing Licenses section.

Fishing License Age

All resident and non-resident anglers age 16 and older are required to purchase a fishing license in the state of Pennsylvania. While fishing, you must carry your valid license on you at all times and provide it upon the request of an officer.

License Validity

All Pennsylvania annual fishing licenses are valid from December 1 through December 31 of the following year (13 months license validity).

Rhode Island

Online Availability

Fishing licenses for the state of Rhode Island can be purchased online via the Rhode Island DEM Hunting and Fishing Licensing System.

Please note that you will have to identify yourself with either your driver’s license or official state ID in order to be able to purchase a license.

License Fees

License TypeFee
RI Resident (or current member of the U.S. armed forces)$18.00
Combination (Hunting and Fishing)$33.00
Non-Resident$35.00
Non-Resident Tourist (three consecutive days)$16.00
Special Trout Conservation Stamp$5.50
RI Resident 65 years of age or older (permanent)free
Veterans with a current 100% disability, or
Individuals with 100% Permanent Disability
(permanent)
free

For more detailed information on license fees and requirements, please visit the Rhode Island DEM’s Freshwater Fishing License Fees sections.

NOTE: Annual recreational saltwater fishing licenses can be obtained online at a price of $7 for residents and $10 for non-residents. Please visit the Rhode Island DEM’s Recreational Saltwater License section to find out more.

Fishing License Age

All resident and non-resident anglers age 15 and older fishing in the state of Rhode Island are required to purchase a fishing license.

License Validity

All Rhode Island annual fishing licenses are valid from March 1 through the last day of February of the following year.

South Carolina

Online Availability

Fishing licenses can be purchased via the South Carolina DNR’s Online Customer Service Portal.

Please note that, in order to obtain a license, you will have to identify yourself with one of the following:

  • a valid driver’s license issued in the United States or
  • a valid state issued identification card or
  • a US Dept of Defense Military Identification or
  • an unexpired Passport if you are a foreign national

License Fees

Resident Freshwater Fishing

DurationLicense TypePrice
3 YearFreshwater Fishing License$30.00
AnnualFreshwater Fishing License$10.00
14-dayFreshwater Fishing License$5.00
AnnualCommercial Freshwater License *$50.00

Resident Saltwater Fishing

DurationLicense TypePrice
3 YearSaltwater Fishing License$30.00
AnnualSaltwater Fishing License$10.00
14-daySaltwater Fishing License$5.00
SeasonShrimp Baiting License & Tags$25.00
AnnualSaltwater Public Fishing Pier$150.00
AnnualSaltwater Public Fishing Pier$350.00
AnnualSaltwater Charter Fishing Vessel$150.00
AnnualSaltwater Charter Fishing Vessel$250.00
AnnualSaltwater Charter Fishing Vessel$350.00

For more detailed information about license types, fees, and requirements, as well as combination and lifetime fishing licenses, please visit the South Carolina DNR’s Resident Fishing and Hunting License Pricing section.

Non-Resident Freshwater Fishing

DurationLicense TypePrice
3 YearFreshwater Fishing License$105.00
AnnualFreshwater Fishing License$35.00
14-dayFreshwater Fishing License$11.00
AnnualCommercial Freshwater License$1000.00

Non-Resident Saltwater Fishing

DurationType of LicensePrice
3 YearSaltwater Fishing License$105.00
AnnualSaltwater Fishing License$35.00
14-daySaltwater Fishing License$11.00
SeasonShrimp Baiting License & Tags$500.00
AnnualSaltwater Public Fishing Pier$150.00
AnnualSaltwater Public Fishing Pier$350.00
AnnualSaltwater Charter Fishing Vessel$150.00
AnnualSaltwater Charter Fishing Vessel$250.00
AnnualSaltwater Charter Fishing Vessel$350.00

For more detailed information about license types, fees, and requirements, as well as combination and lifetime fishing licenses, please visit the South Carolina DNR’s Non-Resident Fishing and Hunting License Pricing section.

Fishing License Age

All resident and non-resident anglers age 16 and older must obtain a fishing license in order to fish in South Carolina.

License Validity

All South Carolina annual fishing licenses are valid for 1 year from the date of purchase.

South Dakota

Online Availability

Fishing licenses can be purchased online via the South Dakota Game, Fish, and Parks’ Hunting and Fishing License section.

Please note that you will have to create a customer account with a username and password in order to purchase or view your fishing license.

License Fees

Resident

License TypeFee
Annual Fishing$28
1-Day Fishing$8
Combination License$55
Senior Combination (65 and over)$40
Senior Annual Fishing (65 and over)$27
Junior Combination (16-18)$12
Habitat Stamp$10

Non-Resident

License TypeFee
Annual Fishing$67
Annual Family Fishing$67
Youth Annual Fishing$25
1-Day Fishing$37
3-Day Fishing$16
Habitat Stamp$25

For more detailed information about licenses, youth fishing license requirements, as well as fishing in South Dakota border state waters, please read the South Dakota Game, Fish, and Parks Fishing Handbook.

Fishing License Age

Non-resident youth anglers who want to fish without their parents or guardians must purchase a youth fishing license.

All resident and non-resident anglers age 16 years and above must have a fishing license in the state of South Dakota. Please also note that non-resident youth anglers under the age of 16 may only fish without a license if their parents or guardians are in possession of a valid South Dakota fishing license.

License Validity

All South Dakota annual fishing licenses are valid from December 15 through January 31 of the second year after the year of purchase.

Tennessee

Online Availability

Fishing licenses can be purchased online via the Tennessee Wildlife Resources Agency’s eStore. Please note that new customers will have to create a customer account and have to identify themselves with their social security number in order to buy and manage their licenses.

License Fees

Resident

License TypeFee
Annual Hunting & Fishing Combination
(Minimum license required to fish and/or hunt small game)
$34.00
Jr. Hunt, Fish & Trap (Ages 13-15)$10.00
County of Residence Fishing$11.00
One-Day Fishing$6.50
Annual Trout$22.00
One-Day Fishing – All Species$11.50
South Holston Lake Permit$22.00

Non-Resident

License TypeFee
Jr. Hunt/Fish
(Required for nonresidents age 13-15, fishing and small game only)
$11.00
Annual Fishing – No Trout$50.00
Three-Day Fishing – No Trout$20.50
Three-Day Fishing – All Species$40.50
Ten-Day Fishing – No Trout$30.50
Ten-Day Fishing – All Species$61.50
Annual Fishing – All Species$99.00

For more detailed information on license types and their respective requirements, please visit the Tennesse WRA’s Fishing Licenses and Permits section.

Fishing License Age

All resident and non-resident anglers age 13 and above must purchase a fishing license in the state of Tennesse.

License Validity

All Tennesse annual fishing licenses go on sale on February 18 and are valid through the last day of February the following year.

Texas

Online Availability

Fishing licenses can be purchased via the Texas Parks and Wildlife’s Hunting and Fishing License Sales section.

Please note that you will have to identify yourself with either your social security number, your driver’s license number, or your passport in order to purchase a fishing license online.

Please also note that an administrative fee of $5.00 is charged for each transaction in addition to the items when purchased online.

License Fees

Freshwater Licenses

License PackageEligibilityFee
Resident Freshwater PackageTexas resident$30
Senior Freshwater PackageTexas resident 65 years and older$12
Non-resident Freshwater PackageNon-resident$58

Saltwater Licenses

License PackageEligibilityFee
Resident Saltwater PackageTexas resident$35
Senior Saltwater PackageTexas resident 65 years and older$17
Non-resident Saltwater PackageNon-resident$63

All-Water Licenses

License PackageEligibilityFee
Resident All-Water PackageTexas resident$40
Year-from-Purchase All-Water PackageTexas resident$47
Senior All-Water PackageTexas resident 65 years and older$22
Non-resident All-Water PackageNon-resident$68
One-Day All-Water LicenseTexas resident$11
Special Resident All-Water Fishing LicenseTexas resident who is legally blind$7*
One-Day All-Water LicenseNon-resident$16

*Cannot be purchased online.

For more detailed information about Texas fishing licenses, packages, and requirements, please visit the Texas Parks and Wildlife’s Fishing Licenses and Packages section.

Fishing License Age

All resident and non-resident anglers age 17 and above must purchase a fishing license in order to fish the public waters of the state of Texas. A person born before January 1, 1931, does not need a fishing license.

License Validity

All Texas annual fishing licenses and packages expire on August 31 of any given year, regardless of the date of purchase.

Utah

Online Availability

Fishing licenses can be purchased via the Utah Division of Wildlife Resources’ Hunting and Fishing Licenses section. Additionally, you can download the Utah Hunting and Fishing Mobile App to display and use your license.

Please note that you will have to create a user account in order to buy, renew, and manage your license.

License Fees

Resident Fishing Licenses

  • 3 Day – $16.00
  • 7 Day – $20.00
  • 1 Year – $34.00
  • 2 Year SAVE $2 – $66.00
  • 3 Year SAVE $3 – $99.00
  • 4 Year SAVE $4 – $132.00
  • 5 Year SAVE $5 – $165.00

Resident Combination Licenses

  • 1 Year – $38.00
  • 2 Year SAVE $2 – $74.00
  • 3 Year SAVE $3 – $111.00
  • 4 Year SAVE $4 – $148.00
  • 5 Year SAVE $5 – $185.00

Non-Resident Fishing Licenses

  • 3 Day – $28.00
  • 7 Day – $46.00
  • 1 Year – $85.00
  • 2 Year SAVE $2 – $168.00
  • 3 Year SAVE $3 – $252.00
  • 4 Year SAVE $4 – $336.00
  • 5 Year SAVE $5 – $420.00

Non-Resident Combination Licenses

  • 1 Year – $98.00
  • 2 Year SAVE $2 – $194.00
  • 3 Year SAVE $3 – $291.00
  • 4 Year SAVE $4 – $388.00
  • 5 Year SAVE $5 – $485.00

For more detailed information about license fees and validities, please visit the Utah Division of Wildlife Resources’ License section.

Fishing License Age

All resident and non-resident anglers age 12 and above must purchase a fishing license or combination license in order to fish the waters of Utah.

License Validity

Utah annual fishing licenses are valid for 365 days from the date of purchase. Multi-year licenses are valid for their respective number of years. (2 to 5-year licenses available).

Vermont

Online Availability

Fishing licenses can be purchased online via the Vermont Fish and Wildlife Department. Please note that new customers will have to create a user profile in order to buy, renew, and manage their licenses.

It is also possible to buy a fishing license gift certificate.

License Fees

Resident

License TypeFee
Annual Fishing
(ages 18–65)
$28.00
Annual Youth Fishing
(ages 15–17; under age 15, no license needed)
$8.00
Permanent Licenses
(residents only, age 66 or older)
$60.00
Three-Day Fishing$134.00
Five-Year Fishing License$11.00
Combination Fishing and Hunting$47.00
Five-Year Combination License$229.00
Youth Combination Fishing and Hunting
(age 17 or under)
$12.00

Non-Resident

License TypeFee
Annual Fishing
(ages 18–65)
$54.00
Annual Youth Fishing
(ages 15–17; under age 15, no license needed)
$15.00
One-Day Fishing$21.00
Three-Day Fishing$23.00
Seven-Day Fishing$31.00
Five-Year Fishing License$264.00
Combination Fishing and Hunting$143.00
Five-Year Combination License$709.00
Youth Combination Fishing and Hunting
(age 17 or under)
$30.00

For more detailed information about fishing license types, fees, and regulations, please check the Vermont Fishing Guide and Regulations.

Fishing License Age

All resident and non-resident anglers age 15 and above must purchase a fishing license in the state of Vermont. Youngsters between 15 and 17 can purchase a youth fishing license.

License Validity

All Vermont annual fishing licenses are valid from the date of purchase up until December 31 of the same year.

Virginia

Online Availability

Fishing licenses can be purchased online via Go Outdoors Virginia. Please note that you will have to create a user account in order to buy, view, or print your licenses.

License Fees

Resident

License TypeFees
Sportsman’s License
(16 years or older)
$100.0
County/City Resident Freshwater Fishing
(For county or city of residence only)
$16.00
Resident State Freshwater Fishing License
(age 16 and older)
1-year license: $23.00
2-year license: $44.00
3-year license: $65.00
4-year license: $86.00
Resident State Fresh/Saltwater Fishing$39.50
Resident Saltwater Fishing License$17.50
South Holston Reservoir Fishing License$21.00
Resident 5-Day Freshwater Fishing
(5 consecutive days) Not valid in designated stocked trout waters
$14.00
Resident 5-Day Fresh/Saltwater Fishing
(5 consecutive days) Not valid in designated stocked trout waters
$24.00
Resident 10-Day Saltwater Fishing
(10 consecutive days)
$10.00
Resident Tidal Boat Sport Fishing$126.00
Resident 65 and Over Annual Freshwater Fishing$9.00

Non-Resident

LicensesFee
Nonresident State Freshwater Fishing
(age 16 or older)
$47.00
Nonresident Saltwater Fishing License$25.00
Nonresident State Fresh/Saltwater Fishing$71.00
Nonresident 1-Day Freshwater Fishing$8.00
Nonresident 5-Day Freshwater Fishing
(5 consecutive days)
$21.00
Nonresident 10-Day Saltwater Fishing License
(10 consecutive days)
$10.00
Nonresident 5-Day Fresh/Saltwater Fishing
(5 consecutive days)
$31.00
Nonresident Tidal Boat Sport Fishing$201.00

For more detailed information on license types, fees, permits, and regulations, please visit the Virginia DWR’ Fishing License Information and Fees section.

NOTE:  A valid trout license (annual or lifetime) is required in addition to several other resident licenses only if you are fishing in designated stocked trout waters (October 1–June 15). Check the Virginia DWR’ Fishing License Information and Fees section for more information on this.

Fishing License Age

All resident and non-resident anglers age 16 and above are required to obtain a valid fishing license prior to fishing in the state of Virginia.

License Validity

All Virginia annual fishing licenses are valid for 1 year from the date of purchase.

a fisherman on his boat with a giant northern pike
Courtesy of Andre Charron

Washington

Online Availability

Fishing licenses can be purchased via the Washington Department of Fish and Wildlife’s Online Licensing System.

Please note that you will have to create a user account in order to buy and manage your licenses.

License Fees

LICENSE TYPERESIDENT
(AGED 16-69)
NON-RESIDENT
Annual Freshwater$29.50$84.50
Annual Saltwater$30.05$59.75
Annual Shellfish/Seaweed$17.40$36.10
Annual Combo Fishing/Shellfish$55.35$124.65
Annual Fish Washington$69.55 N/A
1-Day Combination Fishing License$11.35$20.15
2-Day Combination Fishing License$15.75$28.95
3-Day Combination Fishing License$19.05$35.55

For more detailed information on fishing license fees and regulations, as well as licenses for youths, seniors, active military personal, and disabled persons, please visit the Washington Department of Fish and Wildlife’s Fishing License Types and Fees section.

Fishing License Age

All resident and non-resident anglers age 15 and older must purchase a fishing license in the state of Washington.

A fishing license is not needed when fishing for common carp, crawfish, bullfrogs, or collecting relic shells.

License Validity

All Washington annual fishing licenses are valid from April 1 through March 31 the following year.

West Virginia

Online Availability

Fishing licenses can be purchased via the West Virginia DNR’s Licensing and Game Check System. Please note that you will have to create a customer account with username and password in order to buy, renew, and manage your license.

License Fees

Resident

License TypeFee
Fishing License $19
Sportsman Hunting/Fishing/Trapping (for ages 18 through 64)$35
Junior Sportsman Hunting/Fishing/Trapping (for ages 15 through 17)$16
Trout Fishing Stamp $10
Conservation Stamp$5

Non-Resident

License TypeFee
Trout Fishing Stamp $16
Conservation/Law Enforcement Stamp (required for all licensed anglers)$13
Annual Fishing License $37
One-Day Fishing License $3
National Forest Hunting/Trapping/Fishing $2
Junior Sportsman Hunting/Fishing/Trapping (for ages 15 through 17)$16

For more detailed information on fishing license fees and requirements, as well as lifetime licenses, please visit the West Virginia DNR’s Fishing Licenses section.

Fishing License Age

All resident and non-resident anglers age 15 and older must purchase and carry a valid fishing license when fishing in the state of West Virginia.

License Validity

All West Virginia annual fishing licenses expire on December 31 of the year of purchase.

Wisconsin

Online Availability

Fishing licenses can be purchased via the Wisconsin DNR’s online licensing system Go Wild.

Please note that you will have to create a user account in order to buy, renew, and manage your licenses. You will have to identify yourself with both your social security number and date of birth.

License Fees

Resident

License TypeFee
Fishing (Annual)$20.00
Fishing Annual (First-time buyer)$5.00
Fishing 1-Day
(Can be used towards an upgrade to annual license for $12.75)
$8.00
Fishing, Junior (16 & 17 years old)$7.00
Fishing, Senior Citizen (65 years & older)$7.00
Fishing (Spousal)$31.00
Inland Trout Stamp$10.00
Great Lake Salmon/Trout Stamp$10.00
2-Day Great Lakes Fishing (includes Great Lake Salmon/Trout Stamp)$14.00
2-Day Inland Lake Trout Fishing (includes Inland Trout Stamp)$14.00

Non-Resident

License TypeFee
Fishing (Annual)$50.00
Fishing, Family Annual (primary) (includes children 16 & 17 years old)
Note: Family licenses do not include grandchildren 16 & 17 years old
$65.00
Fishing (First-time buyer)$25.75
Fishing, 1 day (can be used towards an upgrade to annual license for $40.75)$10.00
Fishing, 4 day$24.00
Fishing, 15 day$28.00
Fishing, 15 day Family (includes children 16 & 17 years old)
Note: Family licenses do not include grandchildren 16 & 17 years old
$40.00
Military Fishing$20.00
Inland Trout Stamp$10.00
Great Lake Salmon/Trout Stamp$10.00
Great Lake Fishing, 2 days (includes Great Lake Salmon/Trout Stamp)$14.00

For more detailed information on license types and regulations, as well as sturgeon and miscellaneous fishing, please visit the Wisconsin DNR’s Fishing Licenses section.

Fishing License Age

All resident and non-resident anglers age 15 and under, as well as anyone born before 1927, may fish without a license in the state of Wisconsin.

License Validity

All Wisconsin annual fishing licenses are valid from April 1 through March 31 the following year.

Wyoming

Online Availability

Fishing licenses can be purchased via the Wyoming Game and Fish Department’s Online Electronic Licensing System.

Please note that you will have to create a user account with a username and password in order to buy and manage your fishing license. You can check out this helpful new customer video tutorial to get going.

License Fees

License TypeFee
Commercial Fish Hatchery$187.00
Deal In Live Bait$69.00
Fishing Preserve$136.00
Nonresident Annual$102.00
Nonresident Daily$14.00
Nonresident Youth Annual$15.00
Nonresident Five (5) Day$56.00
Resident Annual$27.00
Resident Daily$6.00
Resident Youth Annual$3.00
Seine or Trap$21.00

For more detailed information on fishing license fees and regulations, as well as lifetime fishing licenses, please visit the Wyoming Game and Fish Department’s Licenses and Fees section.

Fishing License Age

All resident and non-resident anglers age 14 or older must purchase a fishing license in the state of Wyoming.

Exceptions are waters where fishing preserve permits, special limited fishing permits, or landowner fishing regulations apply.

License Validity

All Wyoming annual fishing licenses are valid for 365 days from the date of purchase.


Disclaimer

All prices and dates presented in this article are subject to change and are not guaranteed by strikeandcatch.com. Please always check the respective state’s department for any possible changes in prices, dates, and requirements concerning state fishing licenses.


Related Articles

Featured image courtesy of Nick Penner and Chip Bronston

White Bass vs. White Perch (How to Tell Them Apart)
← Previous
Barracuda Teeth (Toothy Facts and Pictures)
Next →